Home > On movies, Re-reviews > Batman Begins

Batman Begins

Christopher Nolan is one of my favourite directors, partly because he is a little predictable. All his films are about conception and identity. Remember (!) Memento, and his last mega hit Inception. A bit like Terry Gilliam. My wife questioned whether there actually is any character development whatsoever. And I must admit that I expect more development throughout the entire trilogy rather than in just the first film. And this time I clearly picked up the ambiguity in his heroic role. It is elegant, but still too much action and too little psychology – after all it is two hours and twenty minutes.

Christopher Nolan är en av mina absoluta favoritregisörer, delvis för att han är lite förutsägbar. Allt han gör handlar om föreställningar, och om identitet. Tänk på Memento, och hans förra megahit Inception. Lite som Terry Gilliam. Min fru ifrågasatte om det faktiskt finns någon karaktärsutveckling överhuvudtaget. Och jag måste erkänna att jag förväntar mig mer utveckling över hela trilogin snarare än inom första filmen. Och den här gången snappade jag tydligare upp dubbelheten i hans hjälteroll. Det är elegant, men fortfarande för mycket action och för lite psykologi – det är trots allt två timmar och tjugo minuter.

Categories: On movies, Re-reviews
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

